Library Stacks

30Mar10

It’s been a long and frustrating day of gear creation and Rhino-ing. After about 10 hours, however, I think I’m finally making some progress. I’ve been working primarily with the rotary library stacks and the tower that surrounds that space. This serves as the anchor of the house and the program, and will house many of the character’s essential rooms – the writing room and linear narrative disruption machine for the F, the observatory, watchmaking studio and perhaps the bedroom of the N, and the primary drawing room (including the reflection mechanisms) for P.

I know that I should keep on modeling and forget about rendering for the moment, but I couldn’t help myself. A teaser of the void space between…

I’m trying to work out, simultaneous with the plans, the formal logic for the building. I believe it should be three things:

First, it should be an aggregate, not monolithic, structure – that is it should be an assemblage of parts and not a minimalist/simplistic structure. This will emphasize the assemblage of elements, machines, mechanisms, images, texts, etc. that so defines the memory theater.

Second, it should embrace some local context – either the Victorian nature of the surrounding houses or the industrial nature of the nearby grain silo’s and old factories (the A-Mill).

Finally, it needs to have erosive qualities – it should dissolve, bleed, and crumble into the landscape. For this reason I am leaning towards an industrial aesthetic – for the industrial nature of the nearby grain mills lend themselves to quite beautiful ruins.

The other thing I am working out is how to engage the river in a meaningful way both programmatically and physically. More to come on this.

I am leaning towards the second, or perhaps a hybrid of the two.



No Responses Yet to “Library Stacks”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment